Carnival Baby Blanket–New Pattern!

Hooray for new arrivals! Many of my friends from college and from church have been having babies lately, so I’ve been busy making baby blankets for all these new little ones! Just this weekend I had the pleasure of attending a friend’s baby shower and giving her this bright little afghan. My friend has 5 boys, and she is now expecting a GIRL! We all enjoyed showering her with lots of cutesy, pink and frilly stuff! The afghan I made is super soft and cozy (I used Hobby Lobby’s I Love This Yarn, and I do love that yarn!) but it’s also light and rather lacy for summer. When my friend unwrapped it and held it up, I could have taken about 6 orders for custom-made afghans right then and there! (I really need to start carrying some kind of custom order sheets with me everywhere, but at least I always have my card.)

Carnival Baby Afghan

For all you crocheters, I have created a pattern for this blanket, and it is now available for purchase at Cocoa Cream Crochet  and as a Ravelry download. I know that there are alot of baby afghan patterns out there, but if you’re like me, it never hurts to have a few more to choose from. And this pattern is so versatile, that it really wouldn’t have to be a baby blanket…it’s worked in the round, so you decide how big or small you want to make it!

Carnival Blanket detail 1

This is an easy pattern to learn as it is pretty repetitive. Once you get the basic stitch combinations down, you can just keep going ’round and ’round for hours. I think the style is very easy to customize, as well. Depending on your color choices, this could easily work for either a boy or girl. And you can use as many or as few different colors as you want, which is always nice. I imagine this blanket would look very classic if crocheted all in one color…I may even have to make another one just to try it out for myself! So many options to make this modern baby blanket design your own! I do hope you’ll pop over either to Cocoa Cream Crochet or my Ravelry pattern store and check it out.

Carnival Baby Afghan 2

Oh, and don’t you love the little wooden rocking horse!? It was made by my husband’s grandfather, and as a boy, my hubby called him “Horsie.” I just think it is one of the most wonderful toys we have from our childhood collections, and it’s fun to think that someday our children will get to ride Horsie, too!

3 thoughts on “Carnival Baby Blanket–New Pattern!

  1. Hello – Your blanket is just beautiful and I agree, the “I Love This Yarn” from Hobby Lobby is easy to love. I am an admirer of your blog and have been reading it for months – especially about your three kitties. Because of a friend’s recent experience with an extremely premature baby, I have been making afghans for the tiniest babies at Texas Children’s Hospital. My next one will be using your pretty pattern and I thank you so much. Rondi Potts, Spring, Texas

  2. Thanks, Rondi! I’m so glad you like the pattern, and I’m even more pleased to hear how you plan to use it!

  3. I love this pattern – just bought it in fact. My attention span is a little short when it comes to blankets, so it helps to make all different types!

Leave a comment