Sunday Scripture: the Holiness of God

In spite of my best intentions to do a #SundayScripture Periscope broadcast this afternoon, it just was not meant to be. Our schedule is so busy on Sundays that I am usually pretty tired as it is, but this past week I also started a short-term babysitting job to fill in for a friend who is on maternity leave. So, I have been getting up earlier than usual and running around after an extra toddler during the day, meaning that I am even more worn out today than I would normally be! Thankfully, my little charge is quite an easy toddler and is fitting in nicely with Little J and Miss A. Even so, when the baby went down for her nap this afternoon, I knew the best thing for me to do would be to sit down and rest, rather than get all wound up doing a scope. Instead, I decided to share my Sunday Scripture here on the blog. 

This morning’s worship service at our church centered around the theme of the holiness of God. Our pastor is currently doing a series on the attributes of God, and that was the characteristic that stood out to me from today’s sermon. As a musician, the music of the worship service often speaks to me as much as the Bible teaching, especially since the music my husband chooses often comes straight from the Word of God. Today’s song selections were certainly no exception. From “Come Thou Fount” to “Holy, Holy, Holy” and newer songs like “Revelation Song” and “We Fall Down,” it was easy to get caught up in praise and adoration of God Most High. So today’s Scripture passage is fitting because it describes an incredible worship experience the prophet Isaiah had himself:

In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him stood the seraphim. Each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. And one called to another and said:

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts;

the whole earth is full of his glory!”

And the foundations of the thresholds shook at the voice of him who called, and the house was filled with smoke. And I said: “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!” 

Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a burning coal that he had taken with tongs from the altar. And he touched my mouth and said: “Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.”

And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here I am! Send me.”  —Isaiah 6:1-8 (ESV)

I could say so much about this passage, but I know I would not do it justice. These verses are so rich, so full of imagery. I challenge you to meditate on each verse, each description of the Lord’s glory, as well as Isaiah’s response to God. Let His Word wash over you and sink deep into your heart and mind. See the glory of the Most High God; then, like Isaiah, be humbled and moved to repentance. 

“Let the Word of Christ dwell in you richly…”  (Colossians 3:16a)

Leave a Reply

