Gluten-free Biscuits (and Gravy): My Tried and True Recipe

Let me give a disclaimer right off the bat here. I am NOT, I repeat NOT, a food blogger! I do not take good photos of food. I am not able to come up with completely original recipes. But I do frequently tweak, adapt and otherwise make recipes I find elsewhere my own. So don’t go expecting a bunch of gorgeous pictures of these big, beautiful biscuits dripping with delectable sausage gravy, so perfect you can almost smell them. It just is not going to happen. Sorry! I barely had enough time and presence of mind while plopping food down on the table to snap a quick picture of these biscuits with my phone before everyone scarfed them down!

I will admit this recipe is not going to make the lightest, flakiest, buttermilk biscuits a la Paula Dean. This is gluten-free baking we are talking about here, and I like to keep things simple if at all possible…so, give me a little grace! 😉 All that said, these are pretty good biscuits, whether you prefer them with butter and honey (or homemade jam, yum!) or smothered in creamy gravy.  The thing I like about this recipe is that it requires few ingredients, all pretty commonly found in a gluten-free family’s pantry. I think it would also be possible to make them dairy-free if you happen to have palm shortening to sub for the butter and unsweetened almond or rice milk (plus a little lemon juice) for the buttermilk, although I personally have not tried that.

IMG_0192

Gluten Free Biscuits (and Gravy)

Biscuit Ingredients

1 1/2 c. Superfine white or brown rice flour, or a blend of the two (Sometimes I will even throw in some sweet white sorghum flour to change things up.)
3/4 c. Tapioca starch or potato starch (not potato flour)
1 Tbl. Baking powder
1 tsp. Salt
1/4 tsp. Baking soda
1/4 tsp. Xanthan gum (optional, but will help biscuits not be as crumbly)
6 Tbl. Unsalted butter, cold
1 c. Buttermilk or sour milk

Directions

Whisk together all dry ingredients in medium bowl. Cut in cold butter using a pastry blender until mixture resembles very coarse crumbs, leaving some larger pieces of butter. Slowly stir the buttermilk in using a fork, using just enough to form a firm dough. (You may or may not need the whole cup of milk.) Do not overmix. Gently kneed the dough to incorporate dry bits of flour and make a ball. Roll or press out dough on a lightly floured surface, about 3/4 inch thick. Cut with biscuit cutter and place on cookie sheet. Reroll and cut dough as needed. Bake at about 400 degrees Fahr. for 15-18 minutes or until light golden brown. Serve warm and enjoy!

How I make Gluten-free Gravy:

If I am making sausage gravy, I will brown the sausage in a large pan, then remove it from the pan, reserving any drippings. I then add enough butter or lard to equal about 1/4 cup of fat, letting it melt completely in the hot pan. Then I whisk in around 1/4 of my gluten free flour blend. So, for example, when making this last night, I used a little more than 2 Tbl. brown rice flour and a little less than 2 Tbl. tapioca starch. Make sure the fat and flour are fully mixed and smooth before adding any liquid. Gradually whisk in 2 cups of broth, or a combination of broth and milk (for a creamier tasting gravy), stirring the whole time. I like to use my homemade chicken or turkey broth, sometimes subbing up to half the amount with cold milk. Keep heating and stirring the gravy until bubbly and thickened to your liking. Add salt and pepper to season as desired. Then you can stir the sausage back into the gravy, and it is ready to serve!

Leave a Reply

