Whole30-ish: Week 4

No, you didn’t miss a post. Yes, I failed to post anything about our Whole30 journey last week. My husband was out of town, and I had my hands pretty full with the two kids all on my own. Plus, since he was on his own for food, and it was just Little J and me eating here at home, our menu was on the small side. So, here we are on Day 21, and I finally have a new update for you!

So, how is it going now that we are in the home stretch? Well, I guess it is going pretty well. We are getting to that point of food boredom, which is not helped by the fact that my grocery budget for the month is just about spent. No going out and buying new and exciting ingredients that cost a bunch extra now. We have to stick to basics if we are going to stay in budget. I will also say that we have not had any of those big heavens opening, angels singing, amazing changes that many people talk about when doing the Whole20. Maybe it is because we have not been super doper strict, or maybe it is because we were already eating ok to begin with, or maybe we just have more healing to do. I don’t know. I do know that I generally am feeling good, and I do think I have lost a bit of weight and maybe some inches, too. Hubby is feeling ok, although he has seemed to have a rougher time of it than I have. He does have a pretty high stress job and probably needs more time to heal. His acne seems like it might finally be improving just a tad, after a horrible breakout over the last couple of week, presumably from detoxing. He has also been feeling the weight loss, though, which counts for something. I think if I weren’t breastfeeding and up frequently at night, perhaps I would be feeling even better. But I am happy to say that most days my cravings are at a minimum (as long as I don’t see lots of pizza and ice cream posts on Facebook!) and I am loving my veggies more than I ever have in my entire life!

We have also noticed that J seems to be eating better and being a little less picky, not that he is a very picky eater anyway. But he has been commenting on how good things are that I am making, which is always nice, coming from a 4 year old! He did happen to step on the scale in our bathroom yesterday, though, and I noticed that he has lost some weight since last month. So I decided right away that he is going off the Whole30. He is not chubby in the least and should not be losing weight at his age, so I am going to let him go back to eating more normally, which for him means bringing back dairy, gluten-free grains and some legumes. I am looking forward to bringing back these things, too, in the near future! Just no sugar for this mama, ok? 🙂

I would honestly be interested in doing a Whole45 if we could, but we just can’t afford to do it any longer than we have. I am already trying to decide what food group to bring back first. I am thinking of doing gluten-free grains first simply because that frees us up to have rice, GF pasta, and oatmeal again. But I have also thought maybe bringing back legumes first would be good because then we can stretch our proteins a little more with beans and also see if peanuts and/or soy may be a problem for hubby’s skin as we suspect it may be. Oh well, I still have 9 days to decide!

Anyway, in case anyone is interested, here are some of our meals for the week!

Breakfasts:
Sauteed Kale and Scrambled Eggs, Sweet Potato Hash, Fruit Smoothie
Turkey Sausage and Kale, Fried Eggs, Fresh Fruit
Baked Sweet Potato and Turkey Sausage, Fresh Fruit
Veggie Frittata, Green Smoothie
Breakfast Skillet (Potatoes, onions, green peppers, assorted veggies, sausage, eggs)

Dinners:
Roast Chicken Thighs, Sauteed Zucchini, Cooked Carrots, Salad
Slow Cooker Chili Verde (via A Girl Worth Saving), Cauli-rice, Salad
Broiled Chicken Quarters, Baked Potatoes, Green Beans
Grilled Pork Chops, Baked Winter Squash, Salad,
Turkey Sausage with Gravy, Mashed Potatoes, Broccoli, Salad
Slow Cooker Chicken Breasts with tomatoes and mushrooms, Roasted Red Potatoes, Sauteed Zucchini
Grilled Chicken Thighs, Paleo Coleslaw, Roasted Zucchini Spears

My next post will probably be on our final day of the Whole30, discussing what changes we have seen and what our next step will be going forward. See you then!

Leave a Reply

