Whole30-ish: Week Two

Well, we made it through seven days of our Whole30(ish) diet, and we haven’t died or killed anyone yet! Apparently, it is pretty common in the first week to feel rather miserable, having a couple of days of headaches and general malaise, a day or two of irritability and crankiness and a couple of days of extreme tiredness. Hubby and I have not fallen exactly into that typical pattern, however.

The first 5 days I felt fine, no physical symptoms to complain about other than being extra hungry. Yesterday, I did feel extra tired, in spite of having the best night’s sleep I have had since Little Miss was born. I also started having some significant sugar cravings for things like ice cream, chocolate cake, etc. (It probably didn’t help that Little J was pretending to run an ice cream stand and had drawn and cut out several “flavors” of ice cream, complete with waffle cones, that he kept “selling” me!) This morning I still felt a little weary and also had a bit of a short fuse. Both feelings were pretty mild, though, not as bad as I expected.

Hubby had a few days of body aches and tiredness at the beginning. He seems to be feeling better now, but he has had a sudden breakout in one area on his face. I am not sure but have a theory that this is just another symptom of his detox process. I hope it doesn’t get any worse before it gets better.

Little J has seemed pretty much his normal self. I have been a little more relaxed with his diet, letting him have maybe one non-Whole30 food per day, although we do not have that much in the house right now anyway. But I do think he was having a bit of a sugar withdrawal today himself because this morning he asked for hot cocoa with his breakfast (I didn’t let him have any) and then was saying how he wished he could eat donuts later in the morning. He never asks for these sorts of things, so I can’t help but think it has to do with our change in eating.

So, here we are with 23 days to go! It doesn’t sound too bad, although I do worry that I am going to be very tired of potatoes when we get done! I am also concerned that our grocery budget may not be enough to keep up this sort of diet through the end of the month, but I hope we can make it. I spent much less this week than I did last week because I didn’t need to buy as much meat and still had a lot of dinner ingredients left. So maybe next week I will be able to spend even less. We shall see! Anyway, here are some of the meals I have planned for the next several days. (I am not including lunches or snacks this time as they will mostly be repeats from last week or leftovers from dinners.)

Breakfasts:

Turkey Sausage (homemade), eggs, cottage fried potatoes
Baked avocado egg cups, cinnamon baked apples
Sausage and sweet potato hash, leftover baked apples
Vegetable frittata, fried bananas
Nitrate-free bacon, eggs, acorn squash

Dinners:

Broiled Chicken Thighs and Wings, Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Green Beans, Wilted Spinach
Garlic Sautéed Shrimp, Sweet Potatoes, Garden Salad, Watermelon
Venison Pot Roast with Carrots, Onions and Red Potatoes, Broccoli, Salad
Fajita-style Chicken with cauli-rice, Roasted cabbage wedges, salad or fruit
Salmon patties, baked potatoes, broccoli, spinach apple salad
Grilled turkey burgers, steamed veggies, acorn squash, grilled peaches
Roast Chicken, green beans, roasted cubed potatoes, salad

And there you have it! Another 3 weeks plus a few days to go. I think we can do it! It isn’t easy, but I am hoping it will be well worth our effort in the end. And I am proud of myself for sticking to it for a whole week!

 

One thought on “Whole30-ish: Week Two

  1. Good job making it through the first week! That’s funny about your son playing ice cream. Whenever I’m hungry, that’s when all the food commercials come on tv.

Leave a Reply

