Whole30-ish: Week One

As promised earlier, here is my first post about our little Whole30 journey. If you have never heard of this eating plan before, you can check out the Whole30 website and learn more. Essentially, though, it is very similar to the Paleo diet: no dairy, no grains, no legumes and no sweeteners. I am not an expert on either diet, but I see Whole30 as being a short term way to “reboot” the digestive system while also breaking unhealthy cravings and thoughts about food. The focus is not really on losing weight but on detoxing from processed foods and sweeteners and changing the way you think about food, so things like making substitute baked goods using Whole30 approved ingredients is strongly discouraged. The creators encourage anyone wanting to do a Whole30 to focus on their goals and reasons for doing the program, especially when the cravings seem overwhelming or food choices seem boring.

Goals:

My personal goals/reasons for doing a Whole30 are: break my sugar addiction, give my gut some time to heal (after a recent bout with something that seemed a lot like IBS), and increase my nutrient intake for healthier breast milk production and postpartum mood. Because I am breastfeeding, I will be eating closer to 4 meals a day, or snacking more frequently. (Snacking is generally discouraged, but there are exceptions for BFing mothers since we need to keep our calorie intake high.) I am actually not trying to lose weight at this point, and I have never been able to eat very big meals, so I will be eating as much as I can at meals but still snack whenever I am hungry.

My husband agreed to do the Whole30 in hopes of healing, or at least drastically reducing, his adult acne. I think he also may have some adrenal fatigue due to his high stress job and working 6 days a week for a number of years, and I am hoping this month of clean eating will help with that.

Disclaimer:

All that being said, we are not going to be as strict with our Whole30 as the creators recommend, thus the “ish” attached in my title. First, we are not making our son eat totally Whole30 with us. At home we will all eat the same, but if we are at a friend’s house or at church, I am fine with him having dairy or his gluten free crackers, etc., just no sugary snacks. I will, however, be sending him fresh fruit on Sunday’s to substitute for the typical fruit snacks that he is usually given for snack during Sunday School. Also, we will still be using butter for a fat, and my husband may still snack on cheese sometimes. Our budget is such that even for just one month, Paleo style eating is going to be tricky for us, and I am ok with bending the rules ever so slightly so as not to break the bank. For example, I cannot find any nut or seed butters locally that do not have added sweeteners, and my food processor is just not cut out for making my own nut butters. So I made an exception and went with sunflower seed butter that does contain some evaporate cane juice. With those things in mind here are the meals and snacks I have planned and shopped for so far. This should last us through Week 1 and hopefully a good chunk of Week 2 also, since I spent a good portion of my July grocery budget already!

Whole30-ish Meals:

Breakfast
Vegetable Frittata
Bacon, eggs, smoothie w/ coconut milk
Turkey sausage, apples w/ nut butter, sweet potato hash
Potato vegetable fritters, scrambled eggs
Pumpkin coconut smoothie, turkey sausage, celery w/ nut butter

Lunches
Avocado Tuna salad on romaine lettuce, apples with nut butter, baked sweet potato
Turkey sliders in lettuce wrap, pickles/olives, zucchini “fries,” fruit
Dinner leftovers

Dinners
Grilled chicken thighs, baked potatoes, roasted broccoli and cauliflower, garden salad
Pan seared salmon, almond-crusted baked zucchini spears, boiled potatoes, garden salad
Venison pot roast with potatoes, carrots and onions, green beans almondine, garden salad
Pork roast with sauerkraut, roast potato wedges, sautéed zucchini and onion, apple spinach salad
Bratwurst, potato salad, coleslaw, watermelon
Oven-fried chicken wings (almond flour coating), mashed potatoes, steamed veggies, watermelon

Extra meals/snacks:
Sardines, salmon or tuna with lettuce
Olives and fresh cut veggies
Nuts, dried fruit and shredded coconut
Nori rolls (seaweed, cooked shrimp, avocado, cucumber, shredded carrot)
Fruit and coconut milk/kefir smoothie
Fresh cut veggies with mayo-mustard dip
Apples/celery/banana with nut butter
Boiled eggs
Avocado
Spinach salad

Leave a Reply

