Review and Renew

Happy New Year and welcome to 2015! What a year it has been, and what a year lies ahead! Even though I have not blogged in a while, I thought today would be a good day to do a recap of the past year and take a look at what is to come in the next.

image

2014 Review:

Looking back at my shop and life goals for the past year, I am happy to say that I did acheive some of them, and even though others didnt quite happen, I did make strides toward them, nonetheless.

One of my goals was to reach 100 items for sale at Lemon Lane Organics. This one did not happen, although I did try. Life happens. I will try again this year!

Making more holiday-themed items also seems to have gone by the wayside somewhat, but I did make some new things specifically for Easter last year, something I had not done previously.

I did acheive a goal of adding new original crochet and knit designs. One was the baby rain boot crochet pattern “My Little Galoshes.” The other was my first knitting pattern, the free Basic Baby Bear Hat pattern available here on the blog.

image

I was hoping to make 150 sales in 2014. I got pretty close, coming in at exactly 120 transactions on Etsy for the year. Of course, some of those were for multiple items, which I didnt count as separate sales, so maybe I got even closer!

And blogging on a regular schedule? Um, haha, that didnt happen for very long! I did try for a while, though! There is always this year, right?

For my life goals, we DID acheive going wheat free as a family in 2014. It has made definitely improvements in our health as a family. My husband rarely gets migraines now, and if he does eat wheat, he almost immediately feels the negative effects. He also has noticed that he struggles less with adult acne since going wheat-free. I have also noticed clearer skin as well as complete healing of the dermatitis that had plagued my scalp for years! If I cheat, the effects are not noticeable right away, but my skin trouble does return in a matter of weeks. So, needless to say, we will be staying on the wheat-free path as a family for the foreseeable future! My time management skills have improved some, although it is always an area in which I have to work. I have a better handle on managing the household chores, meal planning and budgetting than ever before. My husband does not need to help around the house to keep things up to our desired level of neatness, which makes us both happier. I am still always working on being more intentional about spending focussed time with J and my husband, but I think that is also improving. J and I did get out to visit friends and go on outtings throughout the year, especially since I joined a MOPS group at a local church in the fall. More time in the Word and prayer is, again, an ongoing battle for me. I have my ups and downs. Finding an online Bible study group was helpful for accountability for a while, but when that ended, I had a hard time sticking with it. I need to get back into another accountability group soon!

image

All in all, 2014 was a year with lots of ups and downs, both personally and business-wise, but it was a good year of learning and growth.

2015 Renew:

So looking ahead to 2015, I see some areas that will continue to be important to keep pursuing my goals. For Lemon Lane Organics, I really would like to work at getting to that 100 item mark. I also have several ideas for a series of crochet patterns that I want to design and publish this year. At the moment, I am working on a knitting pattern that I plan to have tested and put up for sale in the coming month!

If you have been following me on the blog or on other social media, you know that a new thing I tried in 2014 was selling handdyed yarn! It has been a fun learning experience! Although I do not know how much time and resources I will be able to devote to Eclectic Lemon this year, it is something I would like to keep doing in the future. I am just not sure that 2015 is going to be the year for that to really grow and develop.

image

The biggest project I have going in 2015, though, is something that will be more important than either of my shops, the blog, and even housework! Again, if you follow me on Instagram or Facebook, you will likely already know that we are expecting Baby Number 2 in early April! Everything in the next few months will revolve around getting ready for our new arrival, setting up furniture, organizing baby clothes nd supplies, and making sure my shops are in good shape before I take a necessary leave of absence from them. I do not know how long I will need to take off from selling or even creating, but I hope it will not be long. With Little J, I needed some serious recovery time and did not have any creative juices even while pregnant. But this time has been much different. I have not lost any of my creative mojo, in fact, just the opposite! I have felt much more inclined to make new things! Little J is excited to meet his new sibling, and my husband and I are also looking forward to adding to our little family.

image

So, you can see that 2015 is going to be quite a full year here down Lemon Lane! I wish you blessings and peace in this year! May God be with you in all you do!

4 thoughts on “Review and Renew

Leave a Reply

