That Crazy Dyeing Thing

Howdy, blog reading friends! In my last post way back when (let’s just say it’s been a while) I talked about my experiments in dyeing yarn. It was very fun and addictive. And I kept thinking and thinking about how much I would like to try my hand at dyeing yarn to sell. But it was sort of scary. I mean, what if nobody buys it? Then I will have loads of beautifully hand dyed yarn sitting in my craft closet just waiting to be knitted up! (Oh, wait, that doesn’t sound so bad, now, does it?! 😉) I was afraid of doing something new and having it fail, of having my hard work go unnoticed or unappreciated. I am not a big risk taker.

20140720-181911-65951064.jpg
But then I thought, how will I know if I never try? There is an element of risk in everything in life. And often, the greater the risk, the greater the reward! So, I dismissed my fears and the little voice inside that likes to tell me I’m not good enough. (Sometimes that little voice is very loud and annoying, and persistent!) I saved up enough to buy some professional dyes. Then I saved up some more to buy some good quality yarn from a fellow dyer who was destashing. And I started up my new little shop, Eclectic Lemon!
I am starting small and building up stock as I can, so right now I only have small batches of worsted and sock weight yarns. But this crazy dyeing thing is such an amazing creative outlet for me that you can get there will be more in the future as I have time and money to add new yarns!

20140720-181907-65947961.jpg
I do hope you will stop by and take a look around, whether you are in the market for hand dyed yarns or not. I would also love it if any knitters or crocheters out there would leave a comment on this post telling me about your favorite yarn bases or colors that you would like to see me add in the future. Or tell me what colorway you see in my shop now that you love the best!

20140720-181908-65948842.jpg
Oh, also, I wanted to let you all know that I am on Instagram now! I post pics of my knitting and crochet, my yarn, my kitties and collie dog, nature…and sometimes just random stuff. If you are on Instagram, feel free to follow me @EclecticLemon. See you there! 😊

20140720-181909-65949749.jpg

9 thoughts on “That Crazy Dyeing Thing

  1. I love your new shop!! Great photos, gorgeous colors – the yarn looks amazing – I’m sure you will do well!

  2. The yarn colors are beautiful! Funny thing is that I just started knitting so I am afraid to invest in nice, hand dyed yarn and then mess up my project! I will get there. Great shop!

    • I understand that, AnnMarie! I actually started dyeing my own because I couldn’t afford the beautiful yarns I see on Etsy all the time. 🙂

  3. All of those colors are beautiful, and you took very nice pictures of them. My favorite one is the last multi-colored one. I’m now following you from the CAST team.

  4. Those are all beautiful! I like the last one best. I love knitting and crocheting with hand dyed because to me it’s always like unwrapping a gift!

Leave a Reply

