Let them play!

So, a couple of posts back I mentioned making gluten free play dough with Little J. Since he has wheat allergies, playing with regular playdough is a big no-no for him, even though he is not a play dough eater, like some kids. See, because of his eczema, even simply touching wheat products can create itchy hive-like bumps on his skin and make his eczema flair up. And breathing in dust from wheat flour has been known to make him sneeze, although he has shown no anaphylactic symptoms as of yet. But I hated for him to miss out on the fun and creative play that happens when kids get their hands on some nice, soft, mold-able dough! So I made some wheat-free play dough for him myself!

Little J's Play dough

And this got me thinking, maybe there are some busy moms, grandparents and even teachers out there who would really like to offer the kids they know with gluten-free, wheat-free modeling clay alternatives, but don’t have the time or supplies on hand to make it themselves. And maybe there are others like me who want an option that doesn’t include a bunch of chemical dyes like Red #40. (Because we all know that even when we are watching them, sneaking little kids will take a taste or two of things we don’t really want them to!) There is evidence that kids with eczema are at a higher risk of absorbing chemicals and allergens through their skin since it is not forming as strong a barrier as healthy skin, so why would I want to needlessly expose my child to icky chemicals? Also, although I have found some other gluten-free all-natural play dough for sale online, most of them are scented, either with fragrance oils or essential oils. But not everyone likes the scents, and they may make some kiddos to be even more tempted to nibble a little when Mom isn’t looking! :p

Creative Nature pastels 1

Thus, Creative Nature Modeling Clay was born! It is all-natural, wheat-free, gluten-free, unscented doughy fun! First it was just an idea, but as I discussed it with friends online and researched recipes and ingredients, I decided to make the idea a reality. I have already created my first several colors using only natural vegetable dyes from things like spinach, purple carrot and red cabbage! 🙂 The colors are more muted and pastel than you would expect from artificial dyes, but I think they are simply lovely. I am still working on creating a nice blue and hopefully mauve or purple as well, but for now these colors are available right here in my Etsy shop!
Brown and white dough

In the future I may be adding another line of gluten free play clay that is lightly scented with essential oils safe for children, but that will take some more time and research. For now, I’d love to hear what you think and invite you to share the news about Creative Nature Modeling Clay with your friends and family!

Creative nature pastels 2

Leave a Reply

