A Peek into my Creative Space

Last night I walked into the office which also serves as my craft room, and realized that it was In desperate need of some cleaning and decluttering. Once I got started, I decided that it would be fun to share a few pictures of this space with you! I didn’t think of it soon enough, so I don’t have a picture of the piles of paper and fabric and yarn and such that had taken over the desk and cabinet. But I did get a picture while I was in the midst of the cleaning process….


Can you tell what my craft cabinet used to be? Yup! It was a TV entertainment center! πŸ™‚ It was given to us a few years ago, but we weren’t using it anymore. So my handy husband turned it into a cabinet that holds my sewing machine, serger and many of my most frequently used craft supplies!


Ah, that is much better, isn’t it!? I am very happy with my newly tidied space. I put away all my baby crochet and knitting patterns neatly in a three ring binder. I also sorted through a small mountain of yarn labels and stashed them away in their proper place. There were several partial skeins of yarn and unfinished projects that needed put away. And my knitting needles now have a nice little box of their own where I can quickly pull them out when needed.


The basket on top holds some of my current projects for easy access. I also hung my bulletin board in a better spot so I can reach it and make better use of it from now on. The only thing I am missing is some of that fancy contact paper to cover the window on my cabinet door. Even when well organized, I would rather not have to look at all the stuff inside the cabinet! πŸ™‚ That is also why I created the curtain to hide away my machines when they are not in use. But when they are, here is how it works!


My husband built a little shelf that rolls out, so when I need to sew something, I just slide the shelf out and set up the machine. And when I am done, everything just tucks right back in, and I can cover it all up again! I used two tension rods and made a simple curtain that slips on both of them and neatly tucks everything away.


So, there you have it! Oh, almost forgot, even Little J has a shelf for some of his High Five magazines and notebooks full of Sunday school papers and coloring pages. That way he can do his own “work” when mommy is in the office. And now, since my room is nice and clean, I am sitting right here and relaxing! πŸ™‚ Thanks for popping in for a visit!

3 thoughts on “A Peek into my Creative Space

  1. I feel really privileged to see into your crafty space. I just love the idea of that curtain and may do similar myself.
    I like to see the things in the glass cabinet as it is hard to be creative without some organised stuff visible πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

