Springy Soaker for Knit and Crochet Blog Week

20130422-163103.jpg
I just found out about the fourth annual Knitting and Crochet Blog Week hosted at Eskimimi Makes, and I thought it would be a good challenge for me to join in. I don’t know if I will be able to blog every single day, but at least I will try! Besides, it was good reminder (or excuse) to take some time and show off my current knitting endeavor. The blog week has this fun “house” theme representing different crafting styles. I think I mostly fit into the “Busy Bee” house because I am always working on several projects and can never wait until one is finished before starting something new.

20130422-163917.jpg

I wanted to make a knit wool soaker for Little J since he is not ready for potty training yet. We never really loved our crocheted soakers, although they were very absorbent, or bullet-proof as I have heard some cloth diapering mamas put it. They just don’t stretch well, and therefore didn’t seem very comfortable or well-fitting. The Curly Purly soaker pattern came highly recommended, so I downloaded it and waited patiently until I could get some wool to use. I recently have been wanting to try my hand at dying yarn, so I snagged a good deal on some LionBrand Fisherman’s Wool using a coupon at Joann’s and got to work!

Having read some about using Easter egg dyes to hand paint yarn, I first dyed this using some teal, denim, green and yellow Easter egg tablets. I won’t go into details of how to do that because I am still learning. But there are some nice tutorials online if you just google it! 😉 Anyway, the initial colors were paler than I wanted, so I over dyed the whole thing with some blue food coloring, and it came out just perfect! Very springy, I think!

20130422-155546.jpg

Here was my first photo as I got started on the soaker…

20130422-162525.jpg

And here is what I have finished so far! I’m starting to pick up stitches for the legs now, which is rather intimidating as I don’t know how many I really need to have for them to fit nicely.

20130422-162732.jpg

It has been so much fun to work with this hand dyed yarn and watch the colors shift. I definitely am going to have to dye more! It is sort of addictive! :p

For more posts from other bloggers on Knitting and Crochet Week Day 1, simply type 4KCBWDAY1 in your favorite search engine! You are sure to come up with all sorts of crafty blog fun!

2 thoughts on “Springy Soaker for Knit and Crochet Blog Week

Leave a Reply

