Gluten-Free Nantucket Cranberry Pie

So we had this lovely little thunderstorm last night, and today is considerably cooler than it has been all week. I know that now that spring has come to Southern Illinois, summer is hot on her tails, and I really mean HOT! So I decided that it was time to do some baking while the house is still nice and cool.

20130411-150254.jpg
I looked in the freezer and noticed that I still have a bunch of cranberries that I bought at Aldi’s last fall, so I decided to search for something yummy to do with them. I stumbled upon this wonderfully simple and delicious looking recipe on the Pioneer Woman’s site. Then I simply “gluten-freed” it so that Little J could enjoy a bite if he wants! I really can’t take any credit for this recipe at all, since I just substituted GF flour and sucanat, but I will post my adjustments here for you so you don’t have to think about it! 😉 Oh, and my pecans were already chopped, so I changed that part a bit, too.

20130411-150333.jpg
One of the things I liked best about this recipe is that unlike normal pie it doesn’t have a pastry crust, just a batter topping poured over the fruit. I have attempted making a pastry using gluten free flour, and it was not a good experience. So this is perfect!

20130411-150621.jpg
Gluten Free Nantucket Cranberry Pie
Ingredients:
Butter for greasing pan
2 heaping cups cranberries, fresh or frozen (thawed)
1/2 cup chopped pecans
2/3 cup sucanat or cane juice crystals
1 cup all-purpose gluten-free flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
1 cup sucanat
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter (melted)
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1/2-1 tsp almond extract (I’m not too fond of almond flavoring, so I reduced this for my tastes.)
1/4 tsp salt

20130411-152308.jpg
Instructions:
Generously grease a round cake pan with butter.

Rinse cranberries and pour into pan. Sprinkle with pecans and 2/3 cup sucanat. In medium bowl, combine remaining ingredients. Pour slowly over top of cranberries, using a rubber spatula to spread batter evenly.

Bake at 350F for 45-50 minutes, until filling is bubbling and crust is golden brown. If you want, you can sprinkle a Iittle additional sucanat on top about 5 minutes before removing pie from oven. This adds a nice crunch and pretty finish to your crust!

20130411-152407.jpg
Now, if only someone would bring me some vanilla ice cream to go with it!

One thought on “Gluten-Free Nantucket Cranberry Pie

Leave a Reply

