Little Dude’s Easter Duds

Happy Easter, dear readers! I’m sorry that I haven’t posted in a while, and especially regret not having prepared a proper Easter post…. But we have been busy around Lemon Lane this week, and this morning it all culminated in a wonderful worship service at our lovely church, celebrating Christ’s glorious resurrection! 🙂 I am so thankful for the freedom I have because He paid the penalty for my wrongs and made a way for me to be right with God. And knowing that He conquered death and is alive and coming back one day soon….ah, what wondrous thoughts!

20130331-141616.jpg
So, this is the first year that I thought about Easter weekend far enough in advance to plan a special little outfit for my special little man to wear to church! And I would be remiss not to share my successes with you. I decided to make a spring vest with matching hat and bow tie for Little J, so I found some inexpensive plaid cotton at Walmart that just happened to coordinate nicely with some scraps I had here at home. I drafted a pattern from another of J’s vests and cut out enough of each color fabric to make a fully reversible design. Then I found this great tutorial from Schwin and Schwin that I followed for the construction of the vest. I forgot to find matching buttons, though, and had to call upon my sweet sewing friend Lori to rescue me from my buttonless state! She has her own custom sewing business, so I knew she would have a nice stash of buttons I could sift through!
20130331-141713.jpg

After I finished that, I found this chocolate brown cotton yarn for the hat and tie. I really wanted a nice grass green, but couldn’t find anything but lime green cotton at Joann’s…and since I had a 50% off coupon that was where I wanted to shop! 😉 Anyway, the brown will go with more outfits, I guess, so it worked out fine. After I whipped up the hat and tie, J was ready to try the whole ensemble out, and he was really so happy in it all that he didn’t want to take it of! I will definitely sew for such a grateful recipient again!

20130331-141837.jpg

He was not in such a happy mood on this lovely Easter morning…must have gotten up too early or something…. So I did not have the most cooperative model to work with for this pictures, but you get the idea, anyway. He got so many compliments at church this morning, even if he didn’t appreciate them. It made me one proud mama!

Oh, I almost forgot to show the other side of the vest! I don’t have a picture of J wearing it that way, so this quick picture will have to do. I loved the argyle design idea from Schwin and Schwin so much that I just had to duplicate it. Cute stuff, if I do say so myself! 😉

20130331-143726.jpg

6 thoughts on “Little Dude’s Easter Duds

Leave a Reply

