Knitterly pursuits

So, amidst all the business of running my shop and raising a toddler and being a housewife, I finally managed to remember to get a few pictures of the things I’ve been knitting for myself lately! I still get a little giddy when I look at my knitting and realize that it is working! And it really looks pretty decent for a beginner, I think!
Here is the Woven Cowl that I mentioned a few posts back…

20130226-132012.jpg
It is such a nice easy knit to just keep up with when I need something to do while watching a movie in the evening. I’ve made a few minor beginner “boo-boos” along the way, but I decided not to bother with fixing them. It is just a cowl for me to wear next fall/winter, and I honestly don’t think anyone will notice my little mistakes (except perhaps one or two friends who are proficient knitters!) I am about halfway through, but it would be going much faster if I actually worked on it more often and for more than a few rows at a time…but it is not a high priority project! It will get done when it gets done, I guess!

And here is my newest knit….a pair of Camp Out Fingerless Mitts! I bought these nice, but inexpensive carbonized bamboo DPNs on eBay from a store called Knitzy a couple of weeks ago, and I simply couldn’t wait to try them out! I know fit probably would have been easier to start learning to knit in the round on circular needles, but I really want to get a high quality interchangeable set….and I am not quite ready to shells out that kind of money right now. These are 8 inch DPNs, which seems a bit long for doing fingerless mitts, but I really intend to make hats with them more than anything else. However, because I cast on fairly tightly, I have been having trouble casting on and joining in the round. I had my eye on this pattern for a while, and I knew I had a bit of yarn that would work for them….and since the first part is knit flat, then seemed so that you pick up stitches from the edge to begin knitting in the round, it seemed a perfect way to get some practice using my DPNs without getting all hung up at the very start!

20130226-133117.jpg
They are coming out a bit small, but that is ok. If they don’t fit me well, I will be able to gift them to someone! πŸ™‚

P.S.–if you haven’t entered my giveaway yet, time is running out! I will close comments on
Thursday, February 28, 2013 and announce a winner on Friday! πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Knitterly pursuits

  1. to fix the problem of casting on too tightly – I usually cast on with a size larger needle. when I’m knitting in the round – i usually dont join the garment until about the 3-4th row – that way I avoid twisting the whole thing and ending up with a mobius . For finishing, I just need to weave the small opening together to have a totally circular garment.

  2. Looks great!
    I find that, when using DPNs for gloves, it’s easier if you use the full set of five: four to hold the stitches and one to knit with. It’s much easier to maneuver πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

