A real knitting project at last!

Ok, so I will admit right off the bat that I don’t have any pictures of my actual knitting of a real project yet….but I just decided to write this post at 9 pm, so no sun in sight, and my knitting (and the camera) is clear on the other end of the house anyway. So you will just have to trust me when I tell you that after two rather homely attempts at cotton washcloths and several ripped out practice swatches in various patterns, I am indeed knitting something that will, hopefully, end up being really useful. (Yes, I have been watching too much “Thomas and Friends” with a certain toddler boy, as evidenced by the fact that the phrase “really useful” is becoming part of my normal vocabulary!)

Anyway, I decided that the only way I was ever going to learn to knit was to start a project that appeals to me, at least a little bit. But since my yarn buying is still pretty limited to buying things for my Etsy shop, I knew I needed to use something I already had in the house. And I only have just a few sizes of plain old straight, single pointed needles, which further limits the number of enjoyable patterns for a beginning knitter! But I finally found one that I felt was within my abilities and wouldn’t require buying any extra supplies! Hooray!

The Woven Cowl by Monique Gascon met all my qualifications for my first real knit…simple stitches, easily memorized pattern repeats, worsted weight yarn and 4.5mm straight needles! It is also a pretty basket weave design that is simple, but not too boring looking. I apologize to those of you who do not have Ravelry accounts, as you probably won’t be able to see the pattern page…but I did find someone else’s project page that you may be able to view to get the idea! I am making mine in Paton’s Classic Merino Wool in Natural. Usually I like to make scarves and cowls in jewel tones, but this was what I had on hand. Besides, the lighter color will help the stitch pattern show up better than a dark one would.

image

I am always crocheting little hats and things on the side, of course, and can’t seem to resist buying a new pattern now and then. My latest purchase was the Arabella Cloche by Lisa Van Klaveren of Holland Designs. I simply love the style, the lacy look, and the adorable little girl in the pattern photos! I’ve already made two of these hats, and the first one is up in the shop…although I’m not entirely happy with the first round of photos I took. It is really one of those hats that needs a head in it to look right! 🙂 But rather than wait until I can borrow a baby to model it, I decided to go ahead and list it. You never know if someone will snatch it up in the meantime! (I wouldn’t mind!)

5 thoughts on “A real knitting project at last!

  1. You are where I want to be….already starting my adventure in knitting! I used to knit as a kid and just have to remember….also want to learn to crochet. I am afraid I won’t make it through the directions though….I hate reading directions!!

Leave a Reply

