Knitting envy

Oh dear, I think I am going to have to give knitting another go in the very near future. I have been content for a long time with simply improving my crocheting skills and trying new patterns and techniques, as well as improvising my own designs. However, I have recently been trying crochet techniques that are what I now call “gateway stitches” because they are similar to knitting in some way and are making me wish yet again that I could find knitting enjoyable. Plus, now that I am not spending time on Facebook, I have had more time to browse patterns on Ravelry for inspiration, and who wouldn’t want to try their hand at making some of these beautiful things?

20121027-092300.jpg

Or maybe one of these from some talented Etsians?

20121027-092442.jpg

The crochet techniques that got me started thinking about knitting again are broomstick lace and Tunisian entrelac crochet. Both of these used to intimidate me, quite frankly, but now that I know how to do them, they really aren’t so difficult as I once thought. I don’t plan on designing any patterns using either technique just yet, but maybe sometime I will! And now that I have a big fat pair of knitting needles (to use for the broomstick lace), perhaps I can use some chunky yarn and make something quick and easy to start with… If you are interested in learning either Tunisian entrelac crochet or broomstick lace, here are a couple of video links that I found helpful to get started!

Entrelac crochet blanket, part 1
Broomstick lace scarf

Have fun!

Leave a Reply

