New Pattern Release!

I am excited to announce here on the blog the release of my newest pattern, the Cocoa Bean Beret! I actually meant to do this a while ago, but got interrupted somehow (I’m sure it had nothing to do with having a toddler in the house!) and never came back to finish my post. Anyway, this pattern is my first hat pattern for sale, so it is sort of a big deal to me! I love the look a little beret on a baby, so I new after making a couple of these that I had to write out the pattern. The tricky part was getting the math right for all the different sizes, but I had some amazingly helpful testers over at Ravelry who gave me some great feedback. It took longer to get everything just “so” than it has for my other patterns, so I really feel that this pattern was something of a labor of love! Now that it is all finished and published, I can say I am truly happy with the results.

You won’t find very many baby beret crochet patterns out there that are as simple and sweet as this one, if I do say so myself! 🙂 It is easy enough for a beginning crocheter, as long as you are willing to learn front and back post stitches (and once you do, you won’t be sorry!) Most of my testers reported that they were able to work up the hat in a matter of hours, so if you need a quick project, this is the one for you!

Most of my testers worked this up with medium worsted weight yarn, but I do recommend a lighter worsted for the best results. I used Caron Simply Soft for most of my test hats, which is more of a DK weight in reality (even though it is labelled as worsted weight.) Gauge is very important if you want to get the correct sizing, since this is not a beanie-style hat. You can go down a hook size if you are using a thicker yarn, but I think this would produce a stiffer hat…which may be fine if that is the look you want. I just prefer the “floppier” appearance of the lighter yarn. 🙂

I do hope you will stop by either Lemon Lane Designs on Etsy or my Ravelry Pattern Store and order your copy of the Cocoa Bean Beret! Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

