While Waiting for Baby

Just a quick little post, since I’ve been so bad about blogging lately! I’m doing a good bit of crocheting these days to keep my hands busy even when I’m too tired to do anything else. 🙂 Here are my current projects, one for me and one for baby!

Denim Lacy Cardigan: This is a very nice Doris Chan design (loving her stuff when I can get my hands on it!) that is currently available for free via Ravelry–Lacy Top Cardigan. I’m using a K hook and Ella Rae Amity yarn in “Denim.” This yarn is an acrylic wool blend, and apparently has won Maggie’s approval. She tried to jump into my project bag every time I get this out! It’s a nice, soft yarn and isn’t “splitty” or shiny like so many less expensive soft yarns. The cardigan pattern is written up a little differently than most, and it was tricky to figure out what was going on at first glance. But once you get into it, it’s not so hard.

Photobucket
Pastel Swirls Baby Blanket: My sister-in-law sent me this OLD Red Heart wintuk 4-ply yarn in baby pastels, and I decided it would be great for another hexagon blanket to go in the bottom of our uniquely shaped playpen! I ran out of yarn for the Autumn Hexagon Blanket and haven’t had a chance to go to Hobby Lobby for more, so I’m working on this one in the mean time. The yarn is super rough (blech!), even worse than I remember Red Heart Super Saver being! I think once it get a good beating in the washing machine along with a vinegar rinse and some fluffing in the dryer, it should soften up enough. I’m using this pattern by Vicki Mikulak, another free Ravelry download! I’m using worsted weight yarn instead of the DK/baby weight called for, so I’m also using an I hook instead of G or H. I want it a little larger than 40 inches across anyway, as the playpen is a little wider than that.

Photobucket

So, there you have it! Hopefully I get all this done before the baby arrives, but if not….I’ll have something to do when I can’t get back to sleep after late night feedings and diaper changes! :p

Leave a Reply

