Did you guess right?

Yesterday’s post was just a tease, I know. 🙂 But I’m sure most anyone who read it figured out my little secret… we’re having a baby! And not just any baby…a little boy, to boot! So my mind has been very much occupied with all things baby-related for the past several months, which is my only real excuse for not blogging at all. But I figured that I should probably post something now, rather than suddenly start having all these cutesy little baby pics to share and leave you wondering how that happened so fast! It has seemed to go by more quickly than I expected, and I can hardly believe that I’m in my third trimester already. Our little “pumpkin” is due to arrive around the first week in November, and that is not so very far away. Some days I feel very ready, and others I feel as if I still have so much to do. But I am enjoying pregnancy, even with all its strange side effects…which haven’t been very bad so far. And it is fun to get to make things for my very own baby for once!

I took the time this afternoon to snap a few more pics of things I’ve made or am in the process of making, so I’ll share those today! First  are these tiny little booties and hat, which I crocheted using a bit of Bernat Baby Sport left over from a gifted baby blanket. The hat was made using Bev’s Easy Round Baby Hat pattern, and the booties were from the SLK Baby Booties pattern. I made these some time ago, and now I can’t remember what hook size I used for certain…but I believe I used a G for both as I wanted them to be “take me home” sized. Oh, and I left off the edging from the booties, just felt it was a little too feminine for my tastes.

Photobucket

My sweet sister-in-law has been going to lots of garage sales lately and sending me some great baby stuff. She found a gently used Boppy pillow, but it needed a cover. I know they don’t cost much in the store, but I wanted to try my hand a sewing one myself. Well, the part I was most nervous about was getting the zipper in, and that worked out great. But the inner curve of  the pillow cover was also tricky, and it seems I didn’t leave quite enough fabric for the needed ease. It may still work, but it appears to be rather tight in that spot. Maybe I shouldn’t have trimmed the seams before trying the cover on the pillow because now I don’t think I will even be able to rip the seams and restitch further in. Oops! Oh well…it still looks cute anyway!

Photobucket

Now I’ve started making an afghan, which is something I wasn’t really planning to do at first. I always make them for other people, but I wasn’t feeling inspired to do so for my own little pumpkin…until I received a unique hexagon shaped playpen, that is! It is quite a neat contraption, but the only drawback is that the bottom sits direcly on the floor with no real padding. That didn’t seem very comfy for  baby, especially on wood floors in the cold winter months. So I decided I needed a hexagon shaped blanket to go in the bottom!  I found this lovely pattern from Coats and Clark, some yummy autumn colored “I Love This Yarn”, and started right to work. It’s really a fun and easy pattern that is working up quickly. The only part I’m not looking forward to is weaving in ends after all the color changes. (I know, I should do that as I go, but really, who am I kidding?!)

Photobucket

So, there you have it…a secret no longer! And perhaps you’ll understand if I don’t get around to the blog very often. I’m still here, still crafting and gardening (sort of…it’s hot out there!) and loving on my cats and collie…but I’ve got Other Things on my mind as well! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Did you guess right?

  1. Funny, I was just saying to myself after reading your previous post, “Gee, she’s making a lot baby stuff…” Happy for you, good thoughts for a smooth pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

