Square Foot Gardening Harvest!

Yes, I’ve been enjoying harvesting some of the lovely vegetables and herbs from my little garden plots these past few weeks. I’m afraid it’s been rather hot and nasty outside lately, especially for mid-June, which is partly why I have been not updated about the garden lately. It’s really growing amazingly well, and this morning I had the chance to spend some time out puttering about before it heated up too much outdoors.

And here are the things that I brought in and washed up this morning:

Photobucket

Let’s see, we’ve got sugar snap peas there in the bottom left corner, two summer squash to the right and some pretty little borage leaves and blossoms tucked between the squash. (Borage is a new herb to me, but it is very pretty and has a cool cucumber-like flavor.) In the center of the photo you can see a pile of nasturtium leaves and blossoms I cut, as well as some green onions. I know that nasturtiums are edible and can be used in salads and such, but I did not like the flavor of the blossoms…so I think I will leave them outside from now on and let the bugs munch them instead. In the upper right corner, you will find a bunch of cilantro I picked…the broccoli heads next to that are rather hard to see since they ended up in the shadows. I have let the cilantro go a little too long, I’m afraid, as it is starting to go to seed. I never use coriander in my cooking, or I wouldn’t mind so much. But this cilantro will go in a lovely  batch of Chicken Pad Thai later this week…yum! My green beans are also producing nicely, and I’ve already frozen some for fall/winter. I haven’t picked any today though, because it was too wet this morning.

I have loved having my own summer squash to pick, and the two bushes I have a bearing extremely well. Since I didn’t grow up liking or eating much squash, it’s a bit tricky to decide what to do with it. The easiest, and probably my favorite thing is just simply to sautee it in a bit of olive oil. I like to add a few sprinkles of Mrs. Dash’s original seasoning, then sautee until crisp tender and golden. I’m not so great with photographing food, but here is my sauteed squash anyway:

Photobucket

We’ve also cooked some fried squash, which is hubby’s favorite. Last night I tried something different and made a sort of skillet stew using ground beef, squash, crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce, and frozen mixed veggies. It turned out really well, in spite of it being something I would have certainly turned my nose to as a kid! Mom would be so proud! 🙂

One thought on “Square Foot Gardening Harvest!

  1. We make squash that looks very similar — we spray the pan with Pam, add the squash, sliced onion and fry till golden brown. You can also add a tiny bit of sugar or sweetener and it is so yummy!

Leave a Reply

