Plans and Plants

Photobucket
Now that it’s March and the weather is starting to warm up a bit, it’s time to start thinking about this year’s vegetable garden! Last year I wasn’t ready to commit to a full-scale garden, so I just planted a few things around the edges of the house. The tomatoes I planted brought in an abundant harvest, and the strawberries and rhubarb are starting to perk up after their long winter’s snooze. I sat down a couple weeks ago and started a list of all the things I wanted to grow. Mostly just the standard vegetables, peas, beans, tomatoes and such…plus some herbs and flowers that will help keep the pesky bugs away!

After doing quite alot of research online, I decided that the best gardening method for me would be square foot container gardening. Our soil here is full of clay and very difficult to work with. Building two 4×8 ft. containers and filling them with compost and good soil will help make better growing conditions, plus I will be able to avoid all that hoeing and slogging through muddy rows to tend the plants. I also researched companion planting, and I learned so much about which veggies, herbs and flowers can help each other grow better. It’s really quite amazing to see how God made even plants to balance one another and sharpen each other’s flavor…not unlike the way He has given us fellow Christians one another. As Proverbs 27:17 says, “As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.”

So, anyway, I finally finished my garden plans, as you can see above. I color-coded all the different plants so that I would know at a glance where I was going to plant what by the square foot. The yellow note pad is where I did most of my brainstorming, especially the companion planting. Trying to arrange the different plants next to other beneficial plants was kind of tricky, but I got it all figured out in the end. Finally, I created a worksheet with all the plants listed in alphabetical order. This list contains information about when to begin planting each thing, which ones need to be started indoors and outdoors, and even what variety of seeds I plan to purchase. Now I’m ready to go out and buy my seeds, seed starting mix (for tomatoes and such that need started indoors), and lumber for the containers. We won’t actually plant anything outside until April when I can be relatively certain the danger of frost is past, but I’m really looking forward to getting started soon!

How about you? Do you have any gardening plans for the summer? I’d love to hear about them!

Happy Saturday! 🙂

One thought on “Plans and Plants

Leave a Reply

