In which I apologize for my long absence

Okay, yes, I know I have been a very bad blogger of late. And I am sorry. You would think that with the holiday shopping season in full swing I would have been on here more, if only for the sake of my Etsy shop. But I have been taking a step back from the online world during the holidays instead. In fact, I’ve been trying very hard to slow everything down this year and enjoy time at home with my husband and our furbabies. It’s been nice to just rest and relax and enjoy the season for what it is, rather than feeling pressure to go here and there and do all sort of busy things just to be like everyone else these days.

That is not to say that I have not been busy around the house, however. I have accomplished alot, actually. The house looks lovely and cozy with all the Christmas decorations up everywhere. I finally stitched up a pretty little valance for one of the spare bedrooms (aka, the cats’ room) as well as a functional and attractive piano bench pad that matches the valances in the family room. I have been spending a great deal more time in the kitchen lately as part of my new commitment to cook and eat more healthy, whole foods. We’re eating alot less food containing preservatives, alot more whole grains and vegetables, less red meat and pork, and more beans and poultry. I eventually want to phase out processed sugar as well, but that change is going to be a little harder to get used to…I do have a terrible sweet tooth! 🙂

Since the weather has finally turned cold, hubby and I are enjoying warm and cozy evening in the family room, snuggled up with some popcorn or hot cocoa and a good movie, with the lights of the Christmas tree twinkling in the background. And of course, I couldn’t settle down without a good crochet project to keep my hands busy also! So, here enters “My Altogether Huge and Daunting Sampler Afghan Project!” Hubby mentioned a couple of months ago that he really wished we had large, heavy afghan for our bed, wondering how long I thought it would take me to make one…and how much yarn it would require. Well, I pushed the idea to the back of my mind because I’m not a big fan of projects that take a long time to finish, such as a queen-size crocheted afghan would! But as I was packing for Thanksgiving vacation, I needed a project that was very portable and didn’t involved alot of creativity on my part. The afghan idea quickly resurfaced, and I quickly searched the internet for interesting and attractive 12 inch afghan square patterns. Since then, I have managed to complete 9 squares, with a tenth one half finished and still on my hook. See?

From Collages

I calculated that I will have to make 49 12-inch squares total to make a queen size afghan, and so far, I used one pound of worsted weight yarn for the dusty rose sqares. The cream-colored yarn is also a pounder, so I hope to be able to get about 8 squares out of it as well. The plan is to make the afghan mostly in cream, but I may get crazy and add in some darker rosey color or maybe even some green, brown or blue…I really haven’t decided yet. Our bedroom has no set color scheme as it is the only room we have never really been able to decide on. (I like too many different bedroom decor styles that I like, but none that I just LOVE.)

Anyway, here are the square patterns I have used so far, starting top to bottom, left to right:

Mandala by Chris Simon
Popcorns and Trebles by Marlo D. Cairns
Winter Rose by Julee Reeves
Cross and Diamond by Julee Reeves
Wheel Lattice by Dayna Audirsch
Cygnus by Chris Simon
Cat Tracks by Drew Emborsky
Winter Dream by April Moreland
Chained Compass by Jennifer Ofenstein

So, there you have it! I am going to be busy with this project for a while, as you can guess…although I’m sure I’ll have to take some creative breaks to make other things every now and then. I have some pattern ideas of my own swirling around in my brain, but they haven’t taken form in real life yet. Hopefully they will become something one day soon! And of course, I will certainly tell all about it here when they do!

Well, if I continue to be a very bad blogger and don’t get on here again for a while, I want to take this moment to wish all my sweet readers a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I pray that you and your family will take some time this year to find the real meaning of Christmas in the birth of the Savior of the world, Jesus Christ the Lord! He is my Hope, my Joy, my Light, my Life! May He be the answer to your life as well.

2 thoughts on “In which I apologize for my long absence

  1. Your squares are just beautiful. I have been crocheting for only three years and always look with admiration at your stitching skill. Quality of work is extremely important to me and I find your website inspiring. I made a baby afghan from your “Carnival” pattern and it turned out well. I’ll try to post a picture – it’s yellow, mint and white. Do you like to see what becomes of your patterns?

    If you are looking for another square pattern, I saw a pretty one on the Coats & Clark website. It was WR1692 Poinsettia Afghan with 11.5″ squares, but with your skill could be enlarged just a bit to make 12″ – it doesn’t really look that much like a poinsettia to me, so it might work for you. Good luck with your project.

    I am an emergency 911 fire dispatcher in The Woodlands, TX, and on some days have lots of time to stitch between emergencies. I enjoy checking your site both for the crochet and the sunny inspirational outlook that you have.

    Thank you,
    Rondi Potts

Leave a Reply

