Someone’s been sitting in my chair!

Hmmm…I see that Maggie sneaked onto the computer already today, but I was able to get away from housework for a few minutes and thought I would add a few notes myself. 🙂 She really couldn’t think about anything else but her excitement about being in the PetsJubilee July Talent Contest, and I guess I can’t blame her.

I did finally finish crocheting a little summer shawl for myself, but I haven’t gotten around to taking photos of it yet. I want to write up the pattern as well, but I have to find the beginning part of it first. I know I wrote it down somewhere, but that was before vacation…and now I don’t know where it went. I really do hope I find it, ’cause it was going to be a nice simple pattern to do. I was thinking of posting it as a free pattern, too, since I haven’t done one of those in a long while. Here’s hoping I can locate my notes….

Another thing I wanted to share is a recipe I created for some yummy doggie treats. Brenna is about out of No-Grainers, which she loves…but we are trying to reel in the spending this month. So, instead of buying store-bought treats, I’m making my own. Here’s what I made today:

Brenna’s Chewy Tuna Nuggets
2 cans tuna (in water)
1 egg
3/4 cup quick oats
1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
1/4 cup canola oil

If you have cats, like me, you may drain one can of tuna and give them the “juice” for a treat. Add the second can without draining off the water. Stir in all other ingredients and mix together thoroughly. Press mixture into 8×8 baking dish and bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees F. Let cool completely, then cut into bite-sized squares. Store in refrigerator in air-tight container or ziploc bag.

I know it may sound weird to feed a dog tuna, but Brenna loves it. I actually found this out quite by accident one day when trying to make cat treats. I made a recipe I found online for tuna cat treats, but even though I made the pieces really small, the cats couldn’t figure out how to eat them. For fun, I gave one to Brenna, and she gobbled it right up! Those treats had wheat flour in them, though, and I’m trying to stay away from any wheat products for the animals. So my recipe uses oats instead, which seem to be better on the tummy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

