Mum’s the Word!

Sweet Violet Chrysanthemum

Okay, so perhaps that phrase is overused, but I just couldn’t help myself! And actually, as far as blogging is concerned, I have been pretty “mum” lately! I’ve been meaning to write, really, but I’ve just been very busy in the creative process lately…which means that I’m often out of words to express the ideas in my head!

Anyway, one of the ideas I’ve been working on is pictured here…crocheted chrysanthemums! I don’t know quite why, but one day I just had this urge to crochet some flowers. I really haven’t made many flowers this way, just one that I can think of actually–an embellishment for a hat. But I had this creative bug bite, and I just had to do something about it. So, I looked at various designs online, then played around with some yarn until I came up with the shape I wanted! The blossom part was easy, but then I had to figure out how to make the flower’s center. That turned out to be easier than I thought, as did the sepals at the base of the flower. I also had fun free-form crocheting the leaves, no two of which are exactly alike!

Fuchsia Pink Chrysanthemum

The really tricky part of making my first mum was constructing the stem. I knew I wanted a flexible, moldable stem that could be bent and twisted into any shape, so I bought some green chenille stems (ie-pipe cleaners) to use. But I wanted to actually crochet around them, so that the chenille would be hidden and the stem would match the rest of the flower in color and texture. After much trial and error, I finally figured out that the best technique would be to single crochet one row, then slip stitch the bottom of my foundation chain to the top of the single crochet row, all working around the chenille stem. Sound confusing enough? It’s not as hard as it sounds, but I can’t put it into words, I guess. If I ever really feel like giving away all my little secrets, then I’ll probably have to put together a video tutorial on youtube!

Mustard Yellow Chrysanthemum

Anyway, all that to say that these sweet little mums are now available in my Etsy shop. And just in time for the Yart Sale, too! I’ve also made a couple of headbands with these big mums on them, and they’ll be up in the shop, too….as soon as I can figure out a way to get a decent picture of the top of my head… But until then, you can check my flickr page to see a sneak preview!

Leave a Reply

