Crochet, cats and corn

Well, I’ve been amazed to have been able to work on some crocheting three days in a row without the kittens interrupting me! They are definitely growing up! So, I can now show you my progress on my Haekelbeutel Bag for the CAL over at Crochetville. I have all 16 squares finished, ends woven in and all! Woohoo! This is the layout I am planning to use as I join the squares into strips. I’m hoping that the end result will be a slightly random pattern in which each of the 4 color combos are visible. I’m also hoping that I will have enough cream yarn to finish the straps and all with that. I should, but I always get nervous about running out of yarn this close to the end of a project! Anyway, here’s a pic for you:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

As noted in my last post about this bag, I used the first 5 rounds of the Spinner Block from Jan Eaton’s 200 Crochet Blocks. I’m thinking of joining the squares with slip stitches instead of whipstitching each square together from the back. I just hate whipstitching, so I try to avoid it at all costs! I really hope that I’ll be able to find some fabric to line this once it’s assembled, but I just found that our local Wal-mart has totally gotten rid of all their material! The craft section is pretty pitiful, anyway, but now it is even more useless than ever. And the worst part is that the nearest Jo-Ann’s and Hobby Lobby are 30 miles away! Small town living does have its downside, I guess. Oh well…

Molly and Maggie are making a great recovery from their spay surgery now. They are totally accustomed to wearing their e-collars now, and even run around and play with them on! I will take them back to the vet Monday to have their stitches removed, and I rather dread that experience. I sort of hope the vet tech will just take them in the back and do it where I don’t have to watch and be one of the “bad guys!” But I will be very glad when their tummies are fully healed and I can stop protecting them from Max’s desire to play rough. He’s been enjoying daily foray’s into the yard for the past week. He has only been aloud outside for about 15 minutes each time, fully supervised, but I can tell he wouldn’t mind if I just left him out there for an hour! I will have to get him a collar and order ID tags for all of them soon, I guess. After that, I’ll start letting them all go outside at once, with supervision, of course. I don’t think I’ll let them wander on their own for quite a while yet, as I’m a somewhat overprotective Meowmy! Just for fun, I have to share this funny little pic of Max eating corn on the cob. DH had actually eaten the corn, but he thought it would be fun to let Max try a bit. So, while he was chowing down on the leftovers, I just had to grab the camera! Looks like he was enjoying it, huh?

Photobucket Image Hosting

Well, I have things I must get done today, so I probably should stop rambling on! Tonight I start teaching the preschool choir at church, so I have a bit of last minute planning to do for that. I’ll let you know how it goes! Happy Wednesday!

3 thoughts on “Crochet, cats and corn

  1. The bag is going to be gorgeous. I just found your blog and I must say your work is beautiful. Your new kitties are very cute too. I didn’t know cats liked corn, hehe.

  2. First time I’ve ever been to your site. But that kitty picture is too cute! Wow! I’d have to show that to my kitties and see what their reaction is. I think they’d run away in shock adn surprise. ;o)

    They prefer the meat!

Leave a Reply

