Cloudy day

Well, I’m having another one of those blah sorts of days. It started yesterday, really, when the clouds and rain generated by Hurrican Gustav rolled into Southern Illinois. It’s nice to have some cooler weather, and the rain was needed. But at the same time, the weather is only adding to my gloomy mood. I just feel totally unmotivated to do anything but sit and stare at the computer or crochet. (But crocheting has become a rare treat around here since the kittens came. I miss it, but I just can’t crochet unless they are sleeping in another room, which hardly ever happens!)

Maggie and Molly were spayed on Tuesday, so we’ve been dealing with the post-surgical treatment all week. They couldn’t keep from licking their incision and tugging and the stitches, so I had to get them both fitted for e-collars. I know they hate walking around the house with cones on their heads, but it’s got to be done so they will heal fully and properly. I don’t want to have to go back to the vet and have them stitched up again! It’s bad enough that we have to return to have the stitches removed. I was really hoping they’d use glue or dissolvable sutures on the outer skin, but instead the vet did it all the old-fashioned way. I suppose if I’d had the money for laser surgery things would be different. But I couldn’t afford that luxury! Anyway, besides the e-collars, I also have to put some protective gel on the surgical site three times a day to help the skin heal better. You can imagine how much they love that! And then of course, there’s Max, who wants to chase Molly and Maggie around and tackle them, which I cannot allow. The girls are supposed to have limited exercise for at least 2 more days, and until the stitches are out, I don’t want him to even think about “bunny kicking” them in the tummy!

So, we’re just having all kinds of fun around here. I’m not getting anything done, and I don’t feel like it anyway! Terrible, just terrible….

One thought on “Cloudy day

Leave a Reply

