It’s Time to Wake Up!

Photobucket

Do you ever get a wake-up call from God? I just did last night. Sometimes I try to ignore them…just hit the snooze alarm and go back to life as usual. But this time I have to wake up and listen to Him. See, for the past few months I’ve been praying for revival, not so much in my church or in the world around me, but actual revival in my own life. I need refreshed. I need to remember the joy of salvation. I need to refocus on the Lord. So now, when He speaks, I know I need to listen. Otherwise, revival will not come.

I’m learning that to be renewed I have to get rid of alot of old junk. If, for example, I want to go out and buy a whole new wardrobe, I would have to throw out all my old, faded, out-of-fashion clothes to make room for the new ones. I wouldn’t go buy new things only to put them in storage and keep on wearing my old grubbies! My spiritual life is the same way. If I want to go somewhere new with God, I can’t keep relying on the same old habits and daily rituals to get me there. This is tough for me. I don’t like change. I like routine. I like what’s comfortable. I like my faded jeans from college and that comfy old t-shirt. But the Lord knows that I would be much more beautiful if I put on a fresh change of clothes. And I would have to agree.

So, He’s asking me to set aside some serious “make-over” time with Him, which means that some other very time consuming things must go…like facebook, Crochetville, Ravelry, and TCS. Oh, I won’t cancel my membership or anything, and I may check in once a week just to make sure noone is trying to reach me and can’t. But I have spent too much time on unimportant activities and shallow relationships, and I’m wasting “kingdom time.” I will still occasionally blog here, but I hope my entries will be more meaningful and uplifting and not so self-promoting and lacking depth. I will still craft, but I’m not sure what direction that will take yet, whether I will keep selling or just make gifts. God and I are still talking about this issue.

Thanks, Lord, for the wake-up call. I know I needed it.

“…let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix out eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith…”  Hebrews 12:1b-2a

2 thoughts on “It’s Time to Wake Up!

  1. This is very thought provoking… I have just started thinking about the same things in my life – cutting back on useless internet lurking. I’ll have to put this one to prayer!

  2. so beautifully put and timely for my life too! way too much time trolling for new crochet patterns, etc. more time for God! yayyyy!

Leave a Reply

