Summer Crochet Now Underway!

Well, it’s time to begin looking to warm weather crochet projects now. I obviously started making my Spring Trench Coat not a moment too soon, because it is warm enough now to wear it as a morning jacket on my way to work. But it’s much too warm to wear it all day! I have a hard time finding crochet patterns for summer tops that I like…I haven’t figured out if its the modesty factor, the fact that I’m not a size 2, or that there are simply not alot of nice free summer top patterns out there! It’s probably a combination of all three, actually.

I finally decided that my next long-term project would be flexiblefashion.net’s Triangular Summer Top. It will only be worn around the house, again because of the lack of modesty. (Thank goodness I don’t need to be modest around my hubby!:o) But I look forward to the finished product. The pattern is simple from what I can tell so far. This is my first project in thread, which might have been a bit ambitious for me as it is going to take forever! But I am enjoying it anyway. I learned that I have to hold thread differently than I hold yarn in order to get the right tension. I also learned that I really need to get some sculpy clay and make some nice big handles for my small steel hooks. This is killing my hands! Anyway, here’s a little peek at what I have so far….

Triangle Top WIP1

3 thoughts on “Summer Crochet Now Underway!

  1. I love how that yarn is worked in the pattern. What a beautiful color! The pattern is pretty and I like the other patterns she has.
    I hear you on trying to find a free pattern for something specific. There are so many great free patterns out there on the internet that I could never get bored, but if you’re looking for something specific it can be limiting. I think the top is a nice free find!

  2. That’s one of my fave freebies. I haven’t made it yet, but it’s on my WIM list! I have a hard time finding summer tops, too, for the same reasons, lol. I’m willing to make them and wear them for hubby, though 😉 He’d be thrilled to walk in the living room and find me vacuuming in that top, lol!

Leave a Reply

