Button, button, who’s got the button?

I went to Jo-Ann’s Fabrics today…big mistake for someone on such a small budget as I! It is impossible for me to just walk in to that store, get what I came for and walk back out. Somehow I get sucked into all that gorgeous fabric, those endless sales bins and aisles of crafting paraphanalia. Oh, it was so hard to leave with only four little buttons! But I did it…my hubby will be so proud! :o)

Trench button det

I looked at some of those fancy bone “tooth-shaped” buttons I was talking about before, but decided against them quickly because they are quite pricey, and only one was left! I also contemplated some fun wooden buttons from the Phillipines that were shaped like lopsided kidney beans. But they seemed a little too unusual for a traditional-looking coat like this. They had some wooden buttons that look identical to ones on a poncho my mom has leftover from the 70’s…very cool, but not quite what I had in mind (and a bit pricey, too). Finally, I found these great faux leather buttons, and I was happy. They are pretty classic looking, but not vintage, and the price was right. Now I just have to finish sewing the seams so I can decide where to place them! I can’t decide whether to put them all on one side (photo on left) or to place 2 to the left for a decorative look (photo on right).

Trench button opt2            Trench button opt1

What do you think?

6 thoughts on “Button, button, who’s got the button?

  1. Another vote for straight down! And I agree with an odd number. Don’t know why, but that seems like a better look for some reason. The coat is beautiful, by the way.

  2. I like the second, with the four buttons. I think the straight down set doesn’t ad anything to the look of the garment. Makes the line look offset, unbalanced.

Leave a Reply

