The Perfect Hat

Cable Hat 1

I am totally in love with this Cable Hat! I finished it last night, and when I put it on I didn’t want to take it off again! I went down a hook size, and it fits perfectly. The cables look great, and the ribbing finished of the edge nicely. I did alter the pattern a bit, leaving off the last two rows of ribbing and changing the method used to join each round. I don’t know quite how to explain what I did, but instead of making the ch2 then hiding it behind a fpdc, I shifted the join back one stitch so that each round I did a ch2 where a bpdc should have been. This makes the join virtually invisible and avoids that extra bump you’ll get if you stick the ch2 behind the first fpdc. Does that make any sense at all?

Anyway, I have to give kuddos to Rheatheylia.com for another great pattern! If you want to see more pics of my version, check my Ravelry page…my id there is: CocoaCream. Now I’m in the process of reworking the Divine Hat from yesterday’s post. I decided since the Cable Hat worked out so well in a smaller hook size, that one probably would be better, too. I’m not quite finished yet, but I can tell I’ll be happier with the results. The stitches feel much more snug, and the hat seems to be holding its shape better than before.

 Well, off to do more crocheting, web-surfing and other fun Sunday afternoon sort of stuff…then it’s back to church tonight! Hope you have a blessed evening!

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Hat

Leave a Reply

