Lucky Me!

Mohair gift yarn

I was at work the other day when one of the parents came up to me in the hall and handed me a little bag of yarn. She said she wanted me to have it because she was never going to use it. And she told me it is mohair from France! The turquoise yarn is quite bulky and definitely hand-spun. It’s rather rough, so I’m not sure what I will use it for yet. As you can see from this photo, it has little flecks of black spun into the turquoise–simply lovely!

IMG_1794

The black yarn is very soft mohair, and it appears to be sport weight or something. I’ve never really used anything lighter weight than baby yarn, so I’m not really sure. I just know it is fairly thin. I wish I knew how much yarn is here, exactly. It would make a wonderful shrug if there was enough yardage, but I don’t know if there is. Oh well, I may just have to guess-timate and try something!

IMG_1797

Anyway, these yarns were a great gift, and I am glad to have them. They’ve certainly got me inspired!

Leave a Reply

