Super Secret No More!

IMG_1427

Finally I can reveal the secret project I was working on before Thanksgiving! This large round ripple afghan was a Christmas gift for my mother-in-law, and it was by far the most special gift I made this year. It is the story behind this bright scrap-ghan, though, that makes it so special.

Last spring my husband’s grandmother, on his mother’s side, passed away after decades of illness. She was a very sweet Christian lady who I only had the priviledge of meeting once. It was not until after her death that I learned that she had at one time been an avid crocheter (I knew I liked her!) and had a sizeable stash of yarn. My gracious mother-in-law decided to give me most of the yarn because she knew I would be able to use it. But as she gave it to me, she said, “I sure wish I had the time to make something with all this yarn. That way I’d have something made with my mom’s yarn.” Well, that statement stuck with me, and it was the inspiration for this afghan. Most of Grandma’s stash was from the late 70’s through early 80’s, so the colors were very bright and rich. My dear hubby helped me so much with the color scheme, which was challenging for me because I was using so many incomplete skeins. Thanks, honey!

So the secret’s out now! And I’m hoping my MIL gets many years of use out of this afghan and that it serves as a joyful reminder of her beloved mother as well.

5 thoughts on “Super Secret No More!

  1. It is beautiful. You did a great job. I love the story about the yarn, thanks for sharing it. I bet she loves it! That was so sweet.

  2. That’s what I did with the stash of yarn my mother gave me. She used to crochet and knit but quit due to arthritis. I took all that yarn and made a large colorful afghan for myself and it’s one of my few prized possessions. She taught me to crochet, and I think of her every time I look at it (it now covers my bed). My mother passed away in 2000 and I finished the afghan in 2002.

Leave a Reply

