Christmas 2007

I have been too busy and/or distracted to blog this past week. I finished up school for a couple of weeks last Thursday, and I enjoyed having my parents in town for Christmas Eve. My dear hubby and I got to have a few days off together before he had to go back to work, and now I’m enjoying the peace and quiet of an empty house. Soon it will be time to take down all the decorations again, although it seems that I just put them up a short time ago! Christmas seemed to sneak up on us this year, and I’m really not ready for it to end!
Christmas Baking 2007b
I know everyone has certain traditional foods they just have to make and eat at Christmastime, and I my family is no different. This year, in addition to the usual turkey dinner and other festive foods, I continued a long-time family tradition of baking Christmas cookies. My mother and I used to do a huge amount of baking together during the holidays, as she always passes out plates of goodies to her friends and neighbors each year. Since I have married and moved far away, I have not done so very much baking at Christmas, but I do still make a few little things. One of those old stand-by’s we call “Aunt Helen’s Christmas Cookies.” They are made using a family recipe that was passed down from my grandmother’s Hungarian aunt. Some people that taste them say these cookies are like the little moon-shaped sweets called Hungarian Wedding Cookies. The recipe may be similar, but these have always been a Christmas tradition in our family, rather than one for weddings! Mother always rolled them into little balls instead of a crescent shape. They are dipped thoroughly in cinnamon and powdered sugar as soon as they come out of the oven, giving them their sweetness and characteristic “snowy” appearance! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

