Textured Stripes Dishcloth

This pattern is now also available on my “Pattern Place” page, along with my other patterns!

Here’s a little something I whipped up with more recylced cotton, the same stuff I used on the eight-pocket tote. It was my first written pattern, and it was a little overly simplistic in its initial form. I have updated it to be more clear. Please let me know if it you find any errors or anything confusing!

**Note: You may not reproduce this pattern or distribute it and claim it as your own. You may not sell this pattern. However, you may sell any items you make using this pattern. You may also link to this pattern. Thanks!**

Textured Stripes Dishcloth

designed by Kiel Lemon
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Materials needed: 4-ply, worsted weight crochet cotton; Hook Size H/8, 5.00 mm

Begin with Ch. 31.

Row 1: Sl st into third ch from hook. *Hdc in next ch. Sl st in next ch. Repeat from * to end of row. Turn.

Row 2: Ch 2. Sl st into first hdc. *Hdc into next sl st. Sl st into next hdc. Repeat from *, ending with sl st in top of turning ch. Turn.

Row 3: Ch 2. Sl st into first hdc. *Hdc into next sl st. Sl st into next hdc. Repeat from *, ending with sl st in top of final hdc. Turn.

Rows 4-5: Repeat Row 3.

Row 6: Ch 1. Sc across. Turn.

Rows 7-10: Repeat Row 6.

Row 11: Ch 2. Sl st into first sc. *Hdc into next sc. Sl st into next sc. Repeat from *, ending with sl st in top of final sc. Turn.

Rows 12-15: Repeat Row 3.

Rows 16-20: Repeat Row 6.

Row 21: Repeat Row 11.

Rows 22-25: Repeat Row 3.

Rows 26-30: Repeat Row 6.

Row 31: Repeat Row 11.

Rows 32-35: Repeat Row 3.

Finishing: Ch 1. Sc around with 3 sc in each corner. Join with sl st, fasten off.

And just for fun, here’s a close-up of the stitch detail. Enjoy!
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

29 thoughts on “Textured Stripes Dishcloth

  1. Hiya
    I’ve just come across from the ‘ville to see your lovely cloth : ) It is really pretty and too nice for dishes! *lol* I think I will make a few to go with my homemade soaps for the winter gift giving extravaganza!

  2. Okay, I know I just commented, but I can’t stop looking at this! I think this might be my second crochet project ever~and *I’m so excited!* THANK YOU! (((((HUGS))))) sandi~since I’m so new, can I ask for help if I need it?

  3. Thanks everyone for your encouraging comments! I’ve had alot of new blog traffic since posting this pattern…kinda exciting for me! :o)

    Yes, Sandi, you can ask for as much help as you need! And that goes for anyone who tries this pattern. Since I am new at writing these things, I’d like to know if I was clear in all the instructions or not!

  4. I am SO EXCITED to be able to share that I finished this today! and I LOVE IT! I used a multi-colored yarn, so you cannot see the stitches as well as in yours. However being so NEW I’m not so sure that’s a bad thing~LOL! I would like to make more of these for Christmas gifts and wish I had a way to take a pic for you to see. *THANKING YOU!* (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. What a beautiful cloth! Thank you for sharing. I will be making this today. I knit cloths as well, but prefer to crochet.

  6. Beautiful work! I’m working on a baby blanket right now. The basic pattern is here, but the one I’m doing is a full size baby afghan.

    I’m so glad I dug out my crochet things. Now the things I want to tackle are multiplying faster than I can stitch!

  7. Thanks for a great pattern. I just made my first one (Lion Cotton in sage green) and I’m planning to make a second to have a set to give as a gift.

  8. Thanks for the pattern, I love the texture! I made a larger version because I wanted it to be dish towel size. If anyone is looking to do the same, this should give you a starting point: I made a starting chain of 51, then made 10 sections of the hdc-sl st rows, alternating with 9 sections of the sc rows, and a border of one row of sc all the way around. It took 3 balls of 2.5-oz Sugar and Cream, and the finished size was 14.5″ x 23″.

  9. I love this pattern – I’m going to make it in the cotton as a scarf. It will be perfect for spring/fall and for summer evenings.

  10. Thank you for sharing 🙂 I made it in white and did the single crochet edging in red. It turned out so cute! I love it! And your instructions were so easy to follow 🙂 good job 🙂

  11. Hello there,

    I’m very new to crocheting–this is my first pattern that I’m working off of–and I have a question about the pattern. For row 2 it says end with a slip stitch in top of turning chain, so will I have two slip stitches in a row here? I have gone through several times, and each time end up with a HDC at the end. I finally worked it out on paper, and got the same thing. Just need to know, since I would really like to make this awesome dishcloth! Thanks!

    Marie

    • Marie, thanks for contacting me with your question. This was one of my very first attempts and pattern writing, so forgive me if it was unclear. You will actually be working that final slip stitch into the top of the final HDC from the previous row. I hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

